Why I Chose a Doula

What’s a doula? What do they even.. do? Before Your Utah Doulas contacted me, I didn’t even know that a Doula existed haha. I had to do a lot of research to understand what they do and why I should choose to have them throughout my pregnancy! Well let me tell ya.. BEST decision I’ve ever made!

Now you might be asking okay well what do they do? What is a doula? Let me explain. A doula is someone who is trained to support you through and especially during your birth and pregnancy. It’s like a midwife but more of a birthing coach. They not only are there at the time of the birth but they are there 24/7 with all of your questions and concerns. The best thing is they also provide support to your family after the baby is born! So how could you not get a doula?!

I recently had my first prenatal visit with my lovely doula Kasaundra from Your Utah Doulas who has bent over backwards to make sure I am comfortable and happy with my pregnancy. This time around with my second, I made the decision to have a natural birth, with no medical assistance besides a very slight pain reliever. Let me tell you.. I am nervous as heck!! I don’t have a very high pain tolerance at all and so I need as much guidance as I possibly can get. Not only was this meeting so reassuring but It was amazing and I am much more excited for the day then I was before. Her number one goal is to make this a positive experience for me no matter what happens. She told me there was a difference between doing something hard that hurts then actually suffering. Knowing that she is there to support and guide me through it is the most comforting thing ever.

She also gave me this notebook to fill out that is honestly a life savor and I never would of done this if it weren’t for her! Its amazing, It gives you a list of birth preferences that you would like to have or to have done to you. It makes everything a lot more smooth when you go into the hospital or where ever, when you give the information to the nurses. It helps them out so they aren’t bombarding you with questions of what you want, stressing you out in the long run. It also has so much information about maximizing comfort during your labor and what to do. Its honestly the best birth plan you could ever have and I am so grateful for all she has done to help me!

Because every pregnancy is so different, I have had so many questions and concerns because of new things happening that I never experienced with my first. I can call or text her with any concerns that I have and she tells me every possible way to receive comfort or to help educate me on why this is happening. It has been such a comfort knowing that I have that support 24/7.

I can’t wait to continue these prenatal visits before little girl comes, its been an amazing experience so far and I am so grateful to have the best doula in the world. If you have any more questions about their services, go to Your Utah Doulas and I promise you won’t be disappointed! 

Leave a comment